19th March – Another ‘Quick Update’…

Standard

As ever, I’ll start with an apology. (Should I just stop now? Can we all take that as a given every time I post? Haha!) Anyway, things I’ve been up to/need to blog about:

 – Standing in front of a class of MSc students and not being heckled!

Wooo! Apparently I was clear, didn’t hurry, made good eye contact and was generally fine. Yay! I now have a great portfolio of my mentor meetings with Kirsty and the learning resources we’ve put together. It’s our final session of six next week so will be having more of a discussion, starting with plagiarism and going on to getting some feedback from the students about the whole group of sessions. I have also promised to make cake: if that doesn’t get them through the door, nothing will!

 – Visiting Special Collections at the University of Leeds.

It was a lovely afternoon! I wanted to stay forever. Sadly, didn’t manage to liberate any of Byron’s manuscripts, but I might go back and peruse when I have annual leave. Not only this, but apparently you can just go in and say ‘Oh hey, can I look at your first Folio?’ and they’ll say, ‘Yeah sure, just wait right there.’ They do supervise you, but WHAT?! I know the Folio at the John Rylands is in the ‘Red Vault’, which basically means you need a very, very good reason to see it. Not so at Leeds! Fabulous stuff. Was also shown some of their conservation and digitisation work areas, in which there was a genuine WWI biscuit just sitting there (I don’t think the biscuit was being digitised though!)… Sigh. One day…

– Teachmeet at Sheffield Hallam.

I didn’t have much to contribute I’m afraid, as I haven’t (or rather, hadn’t) taught anyone by then. My question was just ‘How do I not freak out in front of a class?!’ But some interesting ideas! I need to learn how to use Prezi, among other things. Might try this out for my project!

– A quick trip to London to be grilled by LIS professionals.

UCL interview, followed by a much-needed pint – you can probably imagine the trauma! Will report back as and when.

– Having outlined a slightly less fuzzy idea about my Trainee Project.

Yes! I’m keeping this one under my hat until it’s developed further, but rest assured, there is a chance that aside from banging my head on the table trying to write a real literature review (I did English, okay?), I will be pouncing on innocent patrons with a clipboard in hand, yelling ‘FEEDBACK! FEED BACK TO ME!’. All good fun!

– 6 month review fast approaching!

Oh dear. It’s weird to think I’m halfway through! The transient nature of a traineeship is strange, but I’m looking forward to the future! Not so much looking forward to giving my final presentation, however…

– Starting my block of time with Special Collections next week.

I’m not sure exactly what I’ll be up to, so I shall also have to report back on that as and when. Needless to say, I’m really excited! Alison submitted Bradford’s application for archives accreditation very recently too (congratulations are in order!), so that may be something I can investigate further in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

